Members of the Oakland City Council from left to right starting at top: Loren Taylor (D6), Noel Gallo (D5), Carroll Fife (D3), Nikki Fortunato Bas (D2), Sheng Thao (D4), Dan Kalb (D1), Rebecca Kaplan (at-large), Treva Reid (D7) Credit: Zoom screenshot

We’ve been covering the news in Oakland City Hall for nine months and have an entire section in our website dedicated to stories about local government. Last November, we also created a section dedicated to the 2020 election. This year, we’re starting to create guides to help Oaklanders better understand government, like this post about how to watch and participate in Oakland City Council meetings.

Now that the city council has two new members serving Oakland constituents—in November, Carroll Fife was elected to represent District 3 and Treva Reid will represent District 7—we thought it would help to provide a quick guide about how to contact your council member. Whether you prefer to call, email, or tweet at them, this guide will help you do it.

If you do not know which district you live in and who represents you, then you can plug your address into this council district locator.

Councilmember at-large, Rebecca Kaplan (up for reelection in 2024)

At-large Councilmember Rebecca Kaplan Credit: Courtesy Rebecca Kaplan

Serving: the entire city

Main office: 510-238-7008

Email: rkaplan@oaklandca.gov

Constituent issues: contact Ana Tellez at AMTellez@oaklandca.gov or Desmond I. Jeffries at djeffress@oaklandca.gov.

Social Media: Facebook and Twitter

District 1, Dan Kalb (up for reelection in 2024)

District 1 Councilmember Dan Kalb Credit: Courtesy Dan Kalb

Serving: North Hills, Rockridge, Upper Rockridge, Temescal, Golden Gate, Santa Fe, Longfellow, Piedmont, Bushrod, and Mosswood

Main Office Line: 510-238-7001

Email: dkalb@oaklandca.gov

Constituent issues: for North Hills, Rockridge & Upper Rockridge, and Temescal contact Lisa Jacobs at 510-238-7014, or via email ljacobs@oaklandca.gov. For constituent issues in Golden Gate, Santa Fe, Longfellow, or Piedmont contact Deidra Moss at (510)-238-3557, or via email dmoss@oaklandca.gov. For constituent issues in Bushrod and Mosswood contact Seth Steward at 510-238-7013, or via email ssteward@oaklandca.gov.

Click here to receive Dan Kalb’s newsletter

Social Media: Facebook and Twitter

District 2, Nikki Fortunato Bas (currently serving as City Council president, up for re-election in 2022)

District 2 Councilmember Nikki Fortunato Bas Credit: Courtesy Nikki Bas

Serving: Eastlake, Grand Lake, San Antonio, and Chinatown

Main Office Line: 510-238-7002

Email: nfbas@oaklandca.gov

Constituent issues: Contact Lia Azul Salaverry via email lsalaverry@oaklandca.gov, or Tiffany Kang via email tkang@oaklandca.gov.

Click here to receive Bas’s newsletter

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

District 3, Carroll Fife (first term, up for reelection in 2024)

District 3 Councilmember Carroll Fife Credit: Courtesy Carroll Fife

Serving: West Oakland, downtown, Adams Point, Jack London District

Main Office Line: 510-238-7003

Email: cfife@oaklandca.gov

Social Media: Facebook and Twitter

District 4, Sheng Thao (up for reelection in 2022)

District 4 Councilmember Sheng Thao Credit: Courtesy Sheng Thao

Serving: Dimond, Allendale, Laurel, Redwood Heights, and Montclair

Main Office Line: 510-238-7004

Email: sthao@oaklandca.gov

Constituent issues: Contact Amauri Collins-McMurray at 510-238-7273 or via email acollins-mcmurray@oaklandca.gov.

Click here to sign up to receive the newsletter

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

District 5, Noel Gallo (up for reelection in 2024)

Serving: Fruitvale, Jingletown, and Glenview

Main Office Line: 510-238-7005

Email: Ngallo@oaklandca.gov

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

District 6, Loren Taylor (up for reelection in 2022)

District 6 Councilmember Loren Taylor Credit: Courtesy Loren Taylor

Serving: Maxwell Park, Millsmont, Havenscourt, and Eastmont

Main Office Line: 510-238-7306

Email: LTaylor@oaklandca.gov

Constituent issues: Contact Rowena Brown at 510-238-3971, or via email RBrown3@oaklandca.gov.

Click here to sign up for Taylor’s newsletter

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

District 7, Treva Reid (first term, elected in November 2020)

District 7 Councilmember Treva Reid Credit: Courtesy Treva Reid

Serving: Coliseum, Brookfield Village, Sobrante Park, Castlemont, Oak Knoll, Foothill Square

Main Office Line: (510) 238-7007

Email: TReid@oaklandca.gov

Constituent issues: Contact Rosa Velazquez via email at rvelazquez@oaklandca.gov. Or, Haley Hester at hhester@oaklandca.gov 

Click here to sign up for Reid’s newsletter

Social Media: Facebook and Instagram

Azucena Rasilla is an East Oakland native, a bilingual journalist reporting in Spanish and in English, and a longtime reporter on Oakland arts, culture and community. As an independent local journalist, she has reported for KQED Arts, The Bold Italic, Zora and The San Francisco Chronicle. She was a writer and social media editor for the East Bay Express, helping readers navigate Oakland’s rich artistic and creative landscapes through a wide range of innovative digital approaches.